Ruby Tuesday

Vienna is hot! I´m enjoying summer in my hood, although there´s plenty of work to do. Lately, we were touring a lot with 5/8erl in Ehr´n. It was very attractive playing huge concerts as support act for big German acts like Sportfreunde Stiller or La BrassBands. For an acoustic band like us it´s very unusual playing big stages with thousands of people waiting to be animated to dance and scream. I think we did a good job staying cool but focused and people really enjoyed our laid-back approach. Here some impressions:
Yo! Sportfreunde Stiller Support in PAssau whats stays Oberammergau Festival

One thing I can´t conceal:

I´M THE VERTIKALLBALL WORLD CHAMP 2013!!!!!

The fight took place in Hamburg, Germany, August 28. It was a hot day and the best players from all over the world came together to play unfamous but brilliant Vertikallball nearby the Alster. We had 5 qualification games and the best 5 players advanced to the ultimate final. The last two players standing were my colleague from the Viennese-Vertikalball-League Michael Bruckner-Weinhuber and me. Michael is also co-inventor of this sport and a true master. I lost to him in the finals 2011 in Berlin. Last year he was Vice World Champ. After last years champ Sven P. Pohl (Germany) was eliminated, I knew Michael was the man to beat. I was a little nervous before going into the last game. I played pretty solid in the qualification but I couldn´t win one single game, not even did I come in second. I tried not to analyze what I could do better to excel, instead I focused on my strenghts, believing in myself and my dream to become one of the world´s greates athletes (like I´ve always read in sportsman biographies – thank you Michael Jordan). From a distance, I´d say it was a walk to the championship. I can´t remember one single mistake. I didn´t think, I just played Vertikalball. A thing of beauty!the plate the best players of the world IMG_6456

VballAutogrammkarte

I thought about it a lot recently, but I´m staying with music. I´ll not leave my bandmates and colleagues all over the world alone. Vertikallball is nice, but my profession is composer and musician.
So, the next thing I do is Jazzseminar Schönbach. I´m loving it and I will report afterwards. HAVE A LOOK at my dates, September is HUGE!
Love, Clemens

